Facts About Croatia

  • Area: 56,594 km2
  • Population: 4,475,611 Inhabitants.
  • Capital: Zagreb
  • Language
    The official language is Croatian but English is also widely spoken in tourist areas.
  • Currency
    The currency in Croatia is the Kuna (HRK) and 1 HRK (=0.13 €) makes 100 lipa. The foreign currency can be exchanged in any bank, exchange office or post office. ATMs are available at most places. All major credit cards are also widely accepted.
  • Climate
    The northern part of the country has a continental climate while the mountainous has an alpine climate and the Adriatic region enjoys a Mediterranean climate.
  • Electricity: Electricity operates on 220 Volts AC, 50Hz.
  • Visa Requirements
    Croatia became the 28th EU member country on 1 July 2013. EU member states do not need visa to enter Croatia. Follow this link to check if you need a visa to enter Croatia. Participants requiring visa should make their application in their home country or the closest Croatian Embassy at least one month before the intended date of travel.